This article states how to use Snapshots Screen and track changes made to your Office 365 tenant settings during its lifetime.
The Snapshots Screen allows administrators to track changes made to Office 365 during its lifetime. The snapshots contain information about all the settings SysKit Trace can retrieve.
This screen will display snapshots found in the snapshots folder on the disk and group them by Office 365 tenants. The snapshots folder can be changed in the options if you desire to do so. This screen will display all previously created snapshots. Bolded snapshot name means that the snapshot is currently selected/opened.
The following commands are available on this screen:
- Take Snapshot - starts the Take Snapshot Wizard to take a snapshot of Office 365 configuration settings.
- Take Snapshot with Service - This button is available when clicking the dropdown part of the Take Snapshot button. The service start collecting the data in the background in accordance with the selection from the snapshot options.
- Open – open currently selected snapshot.
- Delete– this button will delete the currently selected snapshot from previously defined snapshot locations.
- Import – use this button to add a snapshot to this list from any other location. Once that the snapshot is imported, it remains here until the user removes it.
- Export– use this button to export the snapshot so that it can be transferred to any other location.
- Show Changes – shows differences between the currently selected snapshot and an older snapshot (if one exists).
- Compare Wizard– starts Compare Wizard for more complex comparisons.
- Compare to Local – compares the selected snapshot with the currently loaded one.
- Compare Selected – if two snapshots are selected, this button compares SharePoint settings stored in these two.
- Mark Configuration as Good – use this button to mark which snapshot captured your Office 365 tenant with all the settings configured in a best possible way.