Resolve Lifecycle Management Tasks - SysKit Point

This article gives site owners a complete overview of the Lifecycle Management Automation process in SysKit Point.

Resolve Lifecycle Management Tasks in SysKit Point

  • Watch this short video for a quick start on Lifecycle Management tasks in SysKit Point.


    Click here to watch this video in full-screen mode

  • Continue with the article to find detailed information on how to resolve Lifecycle Management tasks in SysKit Point.

Workspace Lifecycle

Workspaces in Microsoft 365 usually display the following lifecycle stages:

  • Beginning; for example, when an admin creates a new workspace - Microsoft Team.
  • Middle; users collaborate and use said workspace, chat, create files, and take advantage of all means available to collaborate and achieve their goals successfully.
  • End; after a team is dismissed or a product is retired, the previously used workspace becomes stale and is no longer needed.

When a workspace has reached the third stage, a team owner for that workspace needs to decide:

  • Whether to keep the workspace available,
  • Archive the produced content, or
  • Delete the workspace and all of its content.

To help with this process, SysKit Point provides the Lifecycle Management Automation feature and reduces the management to the previously described decision-making.

After a SysKit Point Admin enables and configures Lifecycle Management Automation, site owners and admins will be notified via email when some of their workspaces are inactive for a period longer than the one defined in SysKit Point settings.

Inactive Workspace Email

Once SysKit Point recognizes that a workspace – Microsoft Team, Microsoft 365 Group, or a site – is inactive, an email is sent to the owner or admin of said workspace.

The email provides the following:

  • Workspace name and type (1)
  • Inactivity period (2)
  • Keep, Archive and Delete actions (3)
  • Link to the Lifecycle Management task in SysKit Point (4)

Clicking any of the action buttons (3) redirects to the Lifecycle Management task of the workspace in SysKit Point.

The Lifecycle Management task screen provides the option to include additional information on the workspace and execute the selected action.

Once clicked, the task details screen opens with the appropriate action dialog visible.

  • For example, if the Delete action button is clicked, the screen shown on the image below opens.

The following can be:

  • Comment (1) on why you’re performing the action
  • Run the action (2)

After the action is executed, the information is displayed in the bottom ribbon of the Lifecycle management task for the viewed workspace.

  • An example of this is shown in the image below.

Please note!
You can find more detailed information on all Lifecycle Management actions available in SysKit Point here.

All Lifecycle Management tasks assigned to you can be found on the My Tasks screen.

Lifecycle Management Tasks

To view the Lifecycle Management Tasks, click the My Tasks tile on the Home screen or the My Tasks section in the user profile menu. The red notification bubble that can be seen in the top right corner shows the number of tasks assigned to you.

My Tasks screen shows:

  • Active Lifecycle Management tasks (1)
  • Completed Lifecycle Management tasks (2)
  • Resolve button (3) to open the task details screen

Lifecycle Management Task Details

On the task details screen, the following information is available:

  • Owner(s) list (1)
  • General workspace information (2)
    • Description
    • Creation date
    • Workspace sharing policy
  • Last Activity, All Users, and All Files tile (3);
    • The All Users and All Files tile redirects to the relevant reports where more information can be found on the users and content in that workspace.
  • Actions (4); this section provides options on what to do with the inactive workspace

After successfully running a Lifecycle Management action, SysKit Point automatically completes the Lifecycle Management task for the reviewed workspace.

Reminder Emails

By default, site owners will receive two additional emails reminding them to complete their Lifecycle Management task.

SysKit Point automatically sends these emails:

  • three days before they're due
  • on the due date

The emails display an appropriate message depending on the time left to complete the task and provide all the available Lifecycle Management actions.

  • Choosing one of the Lifecycle Management actions is necessary for task completion.

Expired Tasks

If the opportunity to decide what to do with the inactive workspace is missed, SysKit Point automatically changes the status of all incomplete Lifecycle Management tasks to Expired.

They can be found on the My Tasks screen under the Completed Lifecycle Management view.

Please note!
Expired tasks are now assigned to SysKit Point Admins and can no longer be completed by site owners or admins.

When a site owner or admin opens an expired task, the task details screen shows a message stating, 'This task has expired.' We have transferred it back to the SysKit Point Admin'.