This article explains how to use Lifecycle Management Actions in SysKit Point.

Run Lifecycle Management Actions in SysKit Point

Lifecycle Management Actions in SysKit Point

SysKit Point includes a set of Lifecycle Management actions that can be executed on Microsoft 365 workspaces - Microsoft Teams, Microsoft 365 Groups, and sites. The following actions are available:

  • Keep
  • Archive
  • Delete
  • Restore

Each action can be executed by SysKit Point Admin and SysKit Point Collaborator users.
Lifecycle Management actionsKeep, Archive, and Delete – are available on the following screens in SysKit Point:

  • Sites overview
  • Microsoft Teams & Groups overview
  • Details of a selected workspace
  • Lifecycle Management task details

You can find the actions in the side panel, under the Manage category (1), except for the Lifecycle Management task details screen, where they are displayed in a ribbon (2).

The Restore action is available for deleted and archived workspaces only. You can find these workspaces on the overview screens by selecting the Deleted/Archived Sites/Groups view (1). On the view, additional columns are available:

  • Deleted By (2)
  • Deleted On (3)
  • Can be Restored (4) – green checkmark is displayed for workspaces currently in the Recycle Bin and can be restored
  • Restore action (5) is available in the side panel, as already described.

Please note!
When the Lifecycle Management flow is enabled, executing an action (except Restore) from any of the mentioned screens will resolve existing unresolved Lifecycle Management tasks for the workspace.

Hint!
On the Sites overview screen and the Microsoft Teams & Groups overview screen, you run actions on workspaces in bulk by selecting multiple workspaces and clicking the wanted action from the side panel.

Lifecycle Management actions are also available in emails that SysKit Point sends to site owners and admins as a part of the Lifecycle Management Automation. Still, actions can be executed in SysKit Point only. Follow this link to learn more about Lifecycle Management emails and tasks.

Next, all actions are described in greater detail.

Keep

The Keep action is run to mark that the selected workspace is being used. As a result, the kept workspace will be:

  • considered active for a selected amount of time
  • exempt when inactive workspaces are calculated by the Lifecycle Management Automation

When executing this action, you can:

  • select the period (1) for which the workspace should be kept
  • leave a comment (2) on why you want to keep this workspace
  • confirm the action by clicking the Keep button (3)

By default, the selected period (number of days) is defined inside the settings, after which a workspace will be considered inactive. Besides the default option, you can always choose one of the following:

  • 6 months
  • 1 year
  • 2 years
  • Custom

The Custom option lets you choose a specific date in the future until which you want to keep a workspace and consider it active.

As a result of this action, you can see the workspace getting a new activity state – Kept – visible in the Activity column (1) on overview screens. Kept workspaces are depicted with a yellow circle. On hover (2), the circle provides additional information on who and until when said to keep the workspace.

Please note!
The Keep action can be executed on inactive workspaces only!

Archive

The Archive action has additional options available that are set up according to the administrator’s preference. More information on that can be found in the Enable Lifecycle Management Automation article.

Archiving a workspace within SysKit Point results in the following:

  • the workspace gets into a read-only state
  • based on the parameters set by the admin, access to the workspace is removed for:
    • Members; all members are removed when a workspace is archived
    • Owners; all owners are removed when a workspace is archived; when this option is set up, at least 1 owner will still exist for all workspaces as set by the admin.
  • the permissions inheritance is restored on all objects
  • all memberships on the workspace are removed in Microsoft 365
  • all memberships are saved in SysKit Point database to support the Restore action
  • the workspace is renamed to include the Prefix and/or Suffix that was set by the admin

After selecting the Archive option for a workspace it opens the Archive action dialog where you can:

  • enter a comment (1)
  • confirm the action by typing ARCHIVE (2)
  • execute the action by clicking the Archive button (3)

Please note!
This action can be executed only on workspaces that are not archived or deleted.

Hint!
As described in the introduction, you can find the archived workspaces by switching to the Archived view on the overview screens.

Delete

With this action, you can easily delete a workspace inside Microsoft 365.

Please note!
This action does not delete a workspace permanently.
The deleted workspace is moved to the Recycle Bin, and you can restore inside the period defined by Microsoft. Microsoft 365 keeps your sites for 93 days, and after that, they are deleted permanently. Microsoft 365 Groups are kept in the Recycle Bin for 30 days.

Please note!
You can find more about Microsoft’s retention policies on the following links:

When running the delete action, do the following:

  • enter a comment (1)
  • confirm the action by typing DELETE (2)
  • execute the action by clicking the Delete button (3)

Please note!
This action can be executed on workspaces that are not deleted or archived.

Restore

The Restore action can be executed on archived and deleted workpspaces.

  • When restoring a deleted workspace, the action results in the following:
  • The workspace is removed from the Recycle Bin
  • The workspace is considered active
  • When restoring an archived workspace, the action results in the following:
  • All memberships are be restored
  • The suffix [Archive] is removed from the workspace name
  • The workspace is considered active

When running the Restore action, a confirmation dialog appears. To execute the action, click the Restore button.