This article explains how to renew or remove guest user access in SysKit Point.
Guest Users Expiration
This article shows how you can resolve a Guest Users Expiration policy violation triggered when SysKit Point detects that a guest user is inactive or if the renewal process is defined to be performed periodically.
In both cases, SysKit Point will send you an e-mail to revalidate the guest user’s access.
Guest User Access Renewal E-mail
SysKit Point sends an e-mail to guest users’ managers or other users defined in the Guest Users Expiration policy.
You can find the following information in the e-mail:
- Guest user whose access should be revalidated (1)
- Due date to resolve the task (2); you have 15 workdays to resolve the policy violation
- Resolve button (3) that takes you to SysKit Point, where you can resolve the policy violation
Click the Resolve button to open the policy violation task in SysKit Point.
Guest Users Expiration Task
Along with the e-mail, SysKit Point creates a policy violation task that provides you with information and actions needed to resolve the policy violation. The following is available on the task screen:
- Guest User Information (1); here, you can find information about the guest user, most importantly, the time they last signed into Microsoft 365
- Remove button (2); when clicked, you need to enter a comment and confirm the action, which results in the guest user being deleted in the Azure Active Directory
- Keep button (3); when clicked, you need to enter a comment and confirm the action, which results in the guest user keeping the access
- If the guest user access is renewed periodically, the guest user keeps the access until the next renewal is triggered; this happens every 3 months by default but can be configured by SysKit Point Admins
- If the guest user access renewal is required when a guest user is detected to be inactive, the guest user keeps the access for the next 20 days by default; SysKit Point Admins can configure this value as well
Guest Users Task Resolved
After you resolve the policy violation, the History screen opens, giving you an overview of actions performed within the automated workflow.
After you resolve the policy violation, you will also receive a confirmation e-mail showing the following information:
- Guest user whose access was revalidated (1)
- Result of the validation (2), showing if the access was renewed or removed
- View Details button (3) that opens the History screen in SysKit Point, showing all the information about actions performed in the automated workflow