This article explains how you can enable Role-based Access in SysKit Point.

Enable Role-Based Access

After deploying SysKit Point, you can allow your Microsoft 365 users to access the SysKit Point web app.

SysKit Point Roles

SysKit Point offers four predefined access roles:

  • SysKit Point Admins
  • SysKit Point Global Viewers
  • SysKit Point Exchange Admins
  • SysKit Point Collaborators

SysKit Point Admins

Users with the SysKit Point Admins role assigned can:

  • see all data collected from your Microsoft 365 tenant
  • manage all settings in SysKit Point
  • perform actions based on the permissions granted in Microsoft 365

SysKit Point Global Viewers

Users with the SysKit Point Global Viewers role assigned can:

  • see all data collected from your Microsoft 365 tenant

They have Read-Only access and cannot execute actions or manage application settings.

SysKit Point Exchange Admins

Users with the SysKit Point Exchange Admins role assigned can:

  • access the Exchange Logs report exclusively

They have Read-Only access and cannot execute actions or manage application settings only.

SysKit Point Collaborators

The only role in SysKit Point that is assigned automatically to users or security groups, based on their ownership permissions in the Microsoft 365 tenant. When logged in to SysKit Point, they can:

  • access all data related to Microsoft 365 resources where they are owners/administrators
  • perform actions based on the permissions granted in Microsoft 365

Optionally, you can assign this role to users with Full Control permissions or enable read-only, which disables actions for SysKit Point Collaborators. Both of these options are described in the following section.

Setting up Role-Based Access

To set up who has access to SysKit Point, navigate to Settings > Security > Manage Access Here, you will find all available roles and a tile with the number of assigned users. It shows us how many users are currently occupying SysKit Point roles.

Clicking each of those labels redirects you to the report of the corresponding role. The report shows exact users occupying that role. On the role reports, you can also assign new users to that role, export the report into PDF or XLSX, and remove users from said roles.

To remove a user, click the checkbox next to the desired user name (1), then click the Remove Access from SysKit Point (2) action.

A dialog will pop out, asking you to confirm your desired action.

When the action is completed, the selected user no longer has access to SysKit Point.

Please note!
Removing user access from SysKit Point will not remove a user from your Microsoft 365 environment.

SysKit Point Admins

To enable sign-in for users who don't have Global Administrator or SharePoint admin rights on your tenant, you have to allow it in Settings.

When located on the Home Screen, click the Settings option in the upper right corner. A drop-down appears. Click the Security option.

You will be redirected to SysKit Point Settings screen - Manage access.

Here, you have four available options for accessing SysKit Point. SysKit Point Admins (1), SysKit Point Global Viewers (2), SysKit Point Exchange Admins (3), and SysKit Point Collaborators (4) of which the latter ones are disabled by default.

During the initial sync, SysKit Point will automatically add two Microsoft 365 administration roles (Company Administrator and SharePoint Service Administrator) as SysKit Point Admins. Any user in your Microsoft 365 environment that has that role will automatically have full access to SysKit Point.

To see all users associated with those roles, click the number on the Users label under SysKit Point Admins option (1).

You are then redirected to the SysKit Point Admins report, where You can see who has access to SysKit Point.

Here, you can add specific users, Microsoft 365 Administration roles, security groups, and Microsoft 365 Groups to the role.

Please note!
You cannot remove or add a distinct user from Microsoft 365 administration role in SysKit Point.

SysKit Point Global Viewers

In a situation where you want to have Users that should be able to generate reports and see tenant permissions but don't want them to have the ability to execute actions, SysKit Point Global Viewer is the role you'll find fitting.

When a user is assigned to the SysKit Point Global Viewer role, they can sign in to SysKit Point and view all data collected from Microsoft 365 but cannot execute actions or manage application settings.

To assign a User to a SysKit Point Global Viewer role, enable the toggle (1) next to it. Click the Assign to role button, type in the name of the desired user, select it (2), and click Save (3).

SysKit Point Exchange Admins

SysKit Point Exchange Admin is a role that enables you to put a person or security group in charge of monitoring Exchange Log reports for your environment. User with the assigned role has Read-Only access on the Exchange Logs report and cannot execute actions and manage application settings.

To enable SysKit Point Exchange Admins, navigate to the Settings > Manage Access screen, enable the toggle next to SysKit Point Exchange Admins (1), and click the Assign to role (2) button. A textbox opens where you can enter the names of users, Microsoft 365 Administrator roles, security groups, and Microsoft 365 Groups. When you're finished, click the Save button (3).

After your settings have been saved, you can click the Users tile under SysKit Point Exchange Admins to check who has the said role assigned; you can assign more users to that role and export the report to PDF or Excel.

You can also select the current user or role and remove their access (1) from SysKit Point.

SysKit Point Collaborators

The SysKit Point Collaborators role enables site admins/Teams owners to access SysKit Point and efficiently manage their sites/teams while not showing the information they should not see. When it's enabled, SysKit Point automatically assigns that type of user to SysKit Point Collaborators role.

To enable SysKit Point Collaborators, when located on the Settings > Manage Access screen, enable the toggle next to SysKit Point Collaborators (1). The total number of owners and administrators appears automatically above the Site Owners label. To assign the Collaborators role to users with Full Control permissions, check the Add users with Full Control (3) option. If you want to enable users to sign in to SysKit Point but do not want them to execute actions, check the Give users read-only access (disable actions) (2) option. When you're finished, click Save.

If you want to see which users have the SysKit Point Collaborators role assigned, click the Site Owners (1) tile.

You will be redirected to SysKit Point Collaborators report, where you can see which users are site owners or administrators, where exactly do they have permissions in your Microsoft 365 environment, and through what means are they given those permissions.

Why Should You Enable Role-Based Access

When working in large environments, it's easier to keep things tidy if more people work together.

As you know, the SysKit Point Admin can see all the available content in the Microsoft 365 Tenant.‌

Role-Based Access empowers all Site Owners (and users with Full Control permissions) to keep their Sites and Teams clean. It gives them access to all reports and information relevant to them without showing the content they are not allowed to see.

For example, the SysKit Point Admin has generated the User Access report. Instead of sharing the URL of the generated report to the other SysKit Point Admin, it was sent to the SysKit Point Collaborator that doesn't have access to all the users on the said environment. This is where Role-Based Access kicks in.

When said SysKit Point Collaborator opens the URL, the report will be generated but only containing Users who are members on his Site Collections and Microsoft 365 Groups.

When the SysKit Point Collaborator tries to drill to the User Details page of a user he is not a manager of, they will be redirected to an Unauthorized Access page.